Top 5 Reasons Anna Wintour is My Idol

Since her cover debut for Vogue Magazine in 1989, Anna Wintour has been the most sought after fashion media person of all time. She introduced the combination of high fashion and low-end clothing and bridge the gap between the fashion industry and celebrity culture.

Think you know everything there is to know about fashion royalty Anna Wintour? Here are 5 things to know about the media icon and why she is my idol.

1. The Hair

The London-born journalist has rocked the same bob hairstyle since she was 14 years old.

2. Why She Loves New York City

“Is a city for people who want to work. And I love that it is a city where everyone is from somewhere else – so you are not judged by your accent, who your dad was, or any of that Englishness.”

 3. Anna Wintour Appreciates A Strong Personality 

If you ever get the once in a lifetime opportunity to work with Wintour, take note, she likes someone with a backbone!

“I don’t like people who’ll say yes to everything I might bring up. I want people who can argue, and disagree, and have a point of view that’s reflected in the magazine. My dad believed in the cult of personality. He brought great writers and columnists to the Standard. I try to do that here, too.”

4. Food

Her favorite food, avocado! Least favorite, broccoli.

5. Just A Natural Passion For Fashion, No College Degree

Anna Wintour is not a college graduate, she does not hold a degree! The talent and star quality Wintour possesses is a natural passion for fashion. When it comes to journalism, it’s literally in her blood! Anna Wintour’s father Charles was the editor of the London Evening Standard for 17 years.

This last fact is my favorite thing about Anna Wintour. I personally did not go to school for fashion, beauty or journalism for that matter. Writing something I LOVED to do as a child (a lot of my childhood friends can vouch for that).

In fact, back in my corporate America days (which were not that long ago), I was the person you would let read your e-mail before you hit the “send” button. It wasn’t until I moved away from New York City (temporarily) that I actually had time to explore my REAL interest. It was then that I started my new career path in the media industry and I have loved every minute of my new life.

I guess sometimes, you’re just born with it.

Leave a Reply

